stupid forehead, stop dripping on me

In an effort to get less horrendously sweaty today I kept my hat off, especially considering the mugginess which had not abated since yesterday evening, though perhaps trying a new variant of way in (involving compensating for the High Street being full of idiots and vans by going up Market Street and Ramsay Lane to get up to go down Johnston Terrace) was partly to blame; the slight downhill air-cooling of Johnston Terrace is far too short. I knew I'd be rushing home as fast as possible to be at home to let the washing-machine fixing-person in without clocking out before Core Time finished at 11:45 and also had to forgo any waiting-outside-work-until-I'd-cooled off as I had to clock in as soon as possible to get a full half-day's-worth of work in before buggering off.

Despite the lack of big hills the longer southward-swinging route in features the best longish-downhill-air-cooling approach and seems to result in slightly less severe horrible sweating by the time I get to the car park, even given the frequent need for rapid speed changes along Lothian Road. I shall go and clip my hair shortly for the slight reduction in insulation this offers. I can't believe that last year I persisted in wearing padded cycling undershorts throughout the summer and that I didn't try losing the rucksack in favour of panniers (freeing up an entire backsworth of heat-escape) sooner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.