Craigieburn Range

I was so hacked off yesterday with my visit to Christchurch, with feeling so fatigued and not having a suitable blip, that this morning I decided to make up for it.  It was a lovely morning and the mountain weather forecast was good so I set off to do something I've wanted to do for a long while- get photos of the Torlesse Range from the back.

The trip up was slow because I stopped so often.  I took over 300 photos all together.  Everything was so beautiful, mountains, hills, rocks and alpine plants, and the air.  I was surprised how warm it was.  I had to take off my jacket.

Eventually I stopped for a late lunch at the Cave Stream.  I was surrounded by snow-clad mountains and strange and wonderful limestone rock formations.  No wonder movie-makers love the place.  There was no wind and except for the occasional vehicle on the road, and a few birds, there was silence.  I wanted to stay there and not come home!

This shot is of part of the Craigieburn Range, which stands behind the Torlesse Range.  I can just see the tail end of it from my back lawn.

As for the Torlesse Range, I've added a rather inexpert panorama in my Blipfolio.  Near the left you can see Back Peak, with Otarama Peak just down to it's left.  I don't know the name of the peak in the centre- that's not visible from home, but I think that's the Rubicon Peak peeping over the brow a little left of the join.  To the right is The Gap and Castle Hill Peak.  I'm certain of the latter two, but if my guesses are wrong concerning the others I'd be happy to be put right.

Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.