Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

A reminder of Hob's Lane ...

Yesterday, whilst I was sitting in the garden, trying to peer through the dense haar (sea-fog), I noticed a busy wasp fly-path, leading directly to my compost bin. Sure enough, whilst we had been on our hols the wasps had set up residence in the heart of said bin. (I know, it doesn't say much for the quality of my compost!)

So this morning, fully armed with a garden fork and a can of Kybosh wasp killer, I have been waging war. Result; Wasps, 2 stings, Talpa, total destruction.

I never cease to be amazed at the way in which wasps and bees manage to organise themselves to produce their wonderfully symmetrical nest structure. Somehow, for me, they always bring back memories of the old television serial, Quatermass and the Pit, hence the title of my blip.

I feel quite bad about the carnage but with the grandson coming to stay at the weekend the wasps had to go.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.