This is Kristina's Life

By kristinaj

Sunken Barge

Today is our last full day in the Bahamas, courtesy of tropical storm Emily. Mom changed our plane tickets so that we'll be leaving tomorrow morning rather than Saturday (when Emily is supposed to hit the Bahamas). As those I know on facebook can attest, I didn't take the news very well (raging expletives, etc).

Unlike yesterday, the sun was out in full today and I was completely ready to go out and do something. Of course my father and sister objected to that plan and instead sat inside playing on their computers. I do enough of that at home so I grabbed my mother and we ventured off in the boat to White Sound. Dad of course had his own expletives to throw at me when he learned of my plan, but Mom and I made it without incident. Unfortunately, while I remembered my camera, I forgot the memory card for it so I couldn't take any pictures of the aqua-marine waves crashing along the banks below the restaurant.

When we were heading back to the house, I called on the radio and asked if anyone wanted to come with Mom and I to check out the sunken barge just south of our island and lucky for me, Karin agreed to come and she dutifully brought my memory card to me.

When we got to the barge, you really couldn't see much except a dark spot in the water. I slowly urged the boat closer and closer, terrified of going over it and adding another shipwreck to these waters. I got it so that just the front end of our boat was slightly over the wreck and a wave of panic came over me. Suddenly that wreck was as clear as day. I grabbed my camera whilst simultaneously attempting to back the boat away from the wreck. Even though the water was no more than 8-10 feet deep, I imagined myself being on that barge as it was going down, stuck in the middle of the water, the nearest land being over a half mile swim away. So creepy.

No snorkeling today. The sucken barge definitely turned me off from going in the water.

I'm really going to miss it here. There's so much more that I wanted to do with this trip that I can't do anymore. Maybe next time?? ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.