wingpig

By wingpig

to cap it all

I had a version with the bars of a locked gate blurred in the foreground and a version with the padlock and chain securing the bars in focus with the corridor behind fading away. Just the doors are enough when it's the prison block at Dachau. Most of the site is just bleak and solemn; the one section which has been liberally planted with trees and landscaped gardening is the area at the other end surrounding the crematoria.

I'm glad that I have a conscience when there are so many who evidently do not.

Rest of the day much better. Discovered three more coffee-selling places, one of which is open until ten. Found (thanks in no small part to my navigation) the vegetable-buffet place we'd decided to go to for dinner to counteract the last few days' sausages to find that it had shut half an hour before we arrived. Discovered loads of quite expensive interior design shops of the same sort which seem to infest Barcelona containing stuff you'd never use if you could afford it in case it got messy and became devalued. Discovered an important fact about the Easy Internet café in Munich in that it is utter bollocks. Only four machines with working USB ports which eat money at an higher rate and on which all sorts of file management have been disabled making them little use for transferring pictures from card to card. There was also nothing there with which to edit and blip. The free-internet-hoggers had luckily disappeared by the time I returned to the hotel. At least next time it will be massively easier if my plan to convert to laptop works.

Given the hassle and unrest which occurs when five differently-shaped and differently-interested people all attempt to go in the same direction in the same group we just split up this afternoon and trundled round at our own speed. This meant that my dad and I hoofed round the town at high speed whilst my sister and Nicky dealt with my mother. Hopefully tomorrow will be quite similar; I never really feel that I've been to a place until I've given myself blisters and it's hard to get blisters going at two miles an hour.

Have nice weekends. If anyone doesn't like this then I'll take it down as I don't like it much either and am still noticeable pissed off from the visit. I've got a nice shot of a train whooshing behind someone in the station this morning I can use instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.