Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Name? Whisky, Whisky Galore

A lousy day in work today, so lousy that I even went for a walk in the rain just to get out of the office. I could have written the script for how today was going to play out based on previous experience, and lo and behold so it did. Sadly though I think my skills for seeing the future don't go as far as predicting the winning Lottery numbers.

It was such a bad day that I thought I would miss the big match on the Gnoll tonight, Neath F.C. versus Real Betis. Yes a mighty Spanish La Liga side was gracing our ground! We lost 8-0 and their No.9 got 7 of their goals, it was a bit of a pass and move exhibition but to be fair to our lads they never gave in and did have a few chances of their own. Even though we lost it helped me get over the days events and by the end of the evening I was nice and relaxed.

So today's blip is a shot of a gem of an off licence in Chipping Sodbury, it has all sorts of whiskys from your well known to rare whiskys from distilleries which have now closed. So once you've drunk them, that's it! I love my whisky but have no particular favourite; I just enjoy trying them all. There's not many in the shot that I haven't tried; Oban, Laphroaig, Lagavulin, Jura etc. One of the most recent that I tasted was "Amrut Fusion", this had to be specially ordered and is an award winning Indian Whisky, and very nice it was indeed.

My purchase today was something I've not tried before "Tomtintoul" a Speyside whisky. It is described as having "suggestions of citrus, toffee tones with a hint of raisins." It's also "clean, creamy with some sweetness balanced by gentle oaky spice." And at the end its "enduring with sweetness followed by spice." Sounds brilliant, I shall be trying it tomorrow.

So if you're ever in Chipping Sodbury and you like your whisky pay a visit to the off licence half way up the High Street, trust me you won't regret it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.