Paul Morgans

By BakewellPie

Blackpool

Today I had a jaunt over to Blackpool for the opening of a fantastic exhibition of photographs at the Grundy Gallery in Queens Street.
The exhibition is called Mass Observation Blackpool through the camera and it is highly recommended.
The picture here is not the most politically correct picture I've ever shot but it is a homage to Blackpool which is exactly that I.E. not politically correct.
I'd forgotten how great it is to take pictures here and today I was spoilt for choice with my Blipfoto as I ended up with so many pictures which I really liked.
Blackpool like so many UK seaside towns has suffered with the advent of cheap air travel and the exodus of holiday makers.
The guest house rooms have now been filled by people who are on the lower rung of the ladder with social and health problems.
This is a national scandal and an extremely sad state of affairs as our holiday resorts deserve far better than this.
I was never a huge fan of Blackpool but after todays visit with glorious weather and a Punk festival in town I've changed my view.
Visit Blackpool it's quite fabulous and truly unique!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.