Shots by a Programmer

By bayprogrammer

Interesting Grass Flower

A year or two ago I was working in my home office and noticed out my window a very interesting plant. At first I wasn't quite sure what it was, but I eventually investigated found it to be some type of grass. I've purposely spread seeds from my first crop to grow additional ones, for I just like this strange-looking grass.

This picture is of such a grass, after it has fully bloomed and started letting its seeds drop. Next year I will need to photograph such a specimen before it's fully ripe. This picture was challenging to take, for it was windy outside. But I did finally get a decent shot which shows the unique seed flower. I find its dangling at the very top to be very different from the other grasses I find around here. It might be super common, but I just never saw it (that I recall) before I saw it in my yard that one day.

I must not be the only one who likes it, for as you can see, Mr. Plank is smiling in my photo. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.