Dry stane dyke

This dry stane dyke ( dry stone wall) was built by my Dad some fifty years ago. It is adjacent to my Mum's property in the Lanarkshire village where she lives. This is the first time I have ever taken a photo of it. Dad is no longer with us but it is a constant reminder of him and also of a man who worked hard and tried his hand at most things. We used to have the land behind this wall and grew strawbwerries commercially which were sent to the fruitmarket in Glasgow. I am not overfond of strawberries because my school summer holidays were taken up pulling them and preparing them to go to market!!

Now the wall is the boundary of my mother's neighbours garden. They are really good to Mum and have a lovely garden which has honeysuckle and many other old fashioned plants which overhang the wall.A new house was built there but still they kept the wall which retains the link with the past.

Happy Anniversary JD! See our daughter's blip!

Just had a wee personalised card in the post from Euan with his photo on it.
Missing you, Euan!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.