Manse of Duns

Although born in Duns (Berwickshire), I have no original memories as we moved to Hamilton in 1952.
As a Church of Scotland minister, my father moved (was transferred ?) to Duns Parish Church in, I think, 1942 and lived in this pile for the next ten years.
Moving from Maryhill, Glasgow just after the Clydebank Blitz must have seemed like a rest camp. It didn't really happen as Dad spent a lot of time in the next couple of years as a chaplain at Scapa Flow, the huge Royal Navy base.
He had a huge fund of Borders stories, only a few of which I remember with any accuracy. A real shame but sadly that is what often happens. Maybe though, that is where I got my love of history.
The old manse was some place. I only visited a couple of times when older and remember;
A long drive up and the house well hidden from the road.
A huge hallway, wood-panelled in a very old style.
A "dungeon" or cellar deep in the foundations under the front door - why??
The rest of the huge house is a mystery to me and will remain so as it was demolished a few years ago,the site sold for building and a new manse built in a different area of the town.
Must confess, I have not been back for some years and all the old timers as I remember them have long gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.