Stravaiger

By stravaig

A pint - or not...........?

"It's life, Jim, but not as we know it".

Seems like the Star Trek line * could be adapted soon in the UK to 'It's a pint, but not as we know it'.

Having a quiet night in and catching up with some reading I came across an article that explained that proposals are to be put before Parliament to change our laws in respect of pints. It seems pubs can only sell beer and cider in an imperial pint or in glasses one-half or one-third of that size. Under the guise of encouraging innovation a two-thirds pint would be legalised. This would make it closer to the size Australians pour, and perhaps to be called a schooner.

I didn't know until this evening that Britons drink around 23 million pints of beer a day. That seems an incredible figure which I find quite hard to believe. However sales have dropped nearly 20% over the last 6 years. Seems part of the thinking in having a smaller glass is that less might end up resulting in more sales and revive an industry which is seeing large numbers of pub closures.

Ah well, back to my pint of London Pride. Perhaps Scotty could beam me down another bottle?

*ps - I gather that line was never actually spoken in a Star Trek episode or film. Same as the more famous 'beam me up, Scotty' was never actually said.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.