Ferinus vis quod ignarus

By leecarson

Not by the hair on my...

I went for a haircut today. Having recently moved house I needed to find a new local barber so headed to The Turk's Head on St.John's Road.

The guy was good - fast, not too much chat, but had a strong accent meaning I didn't always catch what he was saying.

Thus, when he approached my sideburns and asked if I normally shaved I answered yes. But that's not what he asked; he asked if I wanted a shave.

And so began my first ever barbershop hot shave! It was odd to be treated like that but I went with it. First the menthol oil...mmm, nice. Next the hot foam; this felt like a huge dog was licking me after eating marshmallows. So far so good. Next, the shave...scrape, scrape, not the smoothest ever but still fine.

Then came the STINGY JUICE! AAAAAAARGH MY FACE WHAT THE HELL IS THAT STUFF AAAAAAAAAAARGH!!!!

That's what I said in my head - out loud I of course showed no sign of the agony I was suffering. It was like he had shaved me with a cheese grater then rubbed in salt and vinegar to make the red bits really stand out.

Then the hot towel, the moisturiser and facial massage. All in £25 including the haircut. Will I go again? Yes, probably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.