Get Back to Me

By GetBacktoMe

On Holiday - Day 6

Bottoms up!

I had a magical boat trip today and was spoilt for choice of blips, but this one made it to the final. A lucky catch of a young herring gull, just by the ferry ramp on Iona.

I drove the hairy inland route from the B&B to Ulva Ferry on the Isle of Mull and then boarded the boat. First stop in pouring rain was Staffa, and Fingal's Cave. The extraordinary basalt columns are even better than I had imagined, since learing about them at school, so many years ago.

The boat drove into the cave, and then landed us on Staffa, where we were able to walk over the rocks and along the edge of the cave.

We then proceeded to Iona, where the rain held off throughout the visit to the monastry. There was just enough time for me to do a bit of beach combing and to pick up some local pink granite to add to my extensive rock collection that gathers dust on the windowsill at home.

Back-blipped

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.