Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

We're going on a...

... boy hunt

[finished image over on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1325682]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

I only edited this one a few minutes ago, but already the details are sketchy! The main thing is that I've cropped it slightly in Photoshop to get Felix properly onto the left hand third and take away some of the corn at the front which was distracting. I don't often crop my images, but this just felt like it needed it. I also adjusted the tones, bringing out the golden colours using a photo filter layer, as well as a levels adjustment layer to give just a shade more depth to the foreground, and a slight boost to the saturation. I've dodged and burned it too using a 50% grey layer set to overlay blend mode and a black / white brush for burning / dodging respectively. Again, this was to bring out some of the depth in the shot. Finally, and it usually is the last thing I do, I sharpened it using sharpen edges.

Flattened the layers and saved.

Tip of the Day:
I don't know if this is well known by absolutely everyone, but the thing about getting Felix more onto the left hand side is me doing the 'rule of thirds' to compose my shot. There's a nice little explanation of that from the Digital Photography School which is kinda handy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.