shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

The joys of technology

Quick blip today, so I apologise for the poor photo quality, as I still need to go through the photos I took yesterday and post them on Facebook for friends. Spent quite a bit of this afternoon putting photos to song words for a wee presentation for church tonight. I was chairing and had decided to share the song we sang at Keswick Buckie (see link in last Saturday's blip if you're interested). We've never sung it at church, and I'm very, very far indeed from a suitable person to teach the church a new song, so we just listened to it. We are in the process of getting a new AV system, as the previous one is far from perfect - temperamental to say the least, and even more importantly the t-loop doesn't work. So poor Tommy had a complete nightmare tonight trying to get the presentation to work through the system. I'd carefully timed the slides to change automatically as the song goes on and embedded the music (but made sure the file was there in case it didn't work and we had to play it through another programme), compressed the pictures so it wasn't too big a file, saved it as a PowerPoint 2003 file so the church computer would read it and saved it onto my wee flashka (love the Russian term, for the rest of you then memory stick). If only! In the end we ended up running the presentation not through the usual system as it wouldn't upload properly with me clicking each slide because the automatic change wasn't working, with the music through a separate speaker playing from my i-pod because the AV system had taken against sound in all forms! Ah, the joys! Glad I did it though, and I've discovered several other fans of the song in the congregation (though for most it was a new song).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.