earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Evening Shadows

Extra long shadows (highly recommended)

Looks flatter to deceive here. This shot suggests a perfect summer day, but most of it was wet, windy, and decidedly chilly. Trusting to the forecast, I held off getting out on the bike until the evening, when, as predicted, the clouds dispersed, the wind dropped and I enjoyed a great ride in perfect light. Spoiled for choice for good blips but I chose this shot because it best captured the feel of the evening, and also because such fields of wheat are few and far between around here. I love the long shadows of late evening. The versions where I managed to avoid casting my own shadow were not as aesthetically pleasing as this so I decided not to worry about my intervention into the shot and make it part of the overall composition. Proof that it really is me taking the picture!

There is an "almost blip" tonight. Sometimes my little compact really surprises me. The autofocus is a bit hit or miss, but sometimes it can get it exactly right. Take a look at this magnificent hoverfly on a dandelion head.

Sometime ago I promoted a couple of people with new journals whom I thought deserved a bit of attention. In both cases they never blipped again. It seemed that I put some kind of curse on them! But I'm going to try again. A journal I've really enjoyed looking at this last week is from Rob Negus. He has a very distinctive style which I suggested could be called Bliposophy. Take a look.

It's probably no secret that I like a quirky blip. Cuckoo in the Nest from Minnow is, to my mind, a blip of pure genius. You should also check out her Decay series which starts here. It deserves to be seen more widely.

Thanks for all the great comments on yesterday's Victorian Graffiti, which I found had been spotlighted when I got back from my ride tonight. I'm glad it proved so interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.