Basket Case

Somehow I am going to have to turn this pile of scrap iron into a working wood stove again. Hmmm, this could be tough. After yesterdays Blip I started stripping parts off the stove body. Unlike last time where I took the stove to pieces and then figured out how to put it all back together, this time I am going to plan each phase of the restoration. That should make it easier for me.

Tonight I pieced together the cast iron parts from two different brands of stove to see if I can make one complete firebox. This is probably the most important part of the stove. If there is not a good fire, it ain't gonna cook stuff.

Clearly there is a major challenge here. The firebox parts will need to be slightly modified to fit snugly together. This stove is a Saxon brand rather than my favourite Crown brand. I can't get a stove off eBay though. The current asking price for a rusted out stove is about $400? WTF!

So this one is it. When I am finished it will be re-branded as a Crown.

This might take a while...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.