Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Washing the boat

The crew of the St Lifeboat have had a very busy day. They were called out at 7am to assist a Belgian yachtsman who had made a bit of a mistake in his navigation and ended up beached near Hayle when trying to find Penzance.

This took all morning to sort out and then at 6-30 tonight they had an exercise with the divisional inspector. It's been a fun first week for the new Coxswain.

I am not on call this week so my only involvement was coincidental as I was singing with my choir in front of the lifeboat house. It did mean I was there to get a photo though.

This is one of the dull but vital duties the crew have to do, the 15 minute scrub down of the boat and tractor which is done every time they go in the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.