Circle of the Seasons

By GCleare

A Perfect Day

Today we had the quintessential summer day in New England:

1. Blue sky with puffy white clouds.
2. Temperature warm yet comfortable, no oppressive humidity
3. A short passing rain storm that cleaned the air of pollen and watered my garden.
4. No nasty blackflies, sand flies or mosquitoes out and about.
5. Lovely!

I walked the dogs down to the stream, which has been low and boggy recently, full of red slime and wild watercress. The rain had washed it clean and the water smelled delicious. They all jumped in immediately and while Maia fished for tadpoles (my little huntress) the others feasted on grass. JOY! Tails were a-wagging.

Ryan and I went to the paint store today and got what he needed for the house exterior. The scraping is nearly done, and wow, he is being very thorough. The prep work was a huge job. It will go much faster now. I'll blip it midway and again when finished.

It's so great to see my shaggy old home (1760) returning to its former glory!

This is a brown Alpine butterfly, which we have tons of in our pasture. I love the eyes on their top wings.

PS- Sorry for not commenting much lately. I've been working on a website for a client, and getting ready for my son's wedding this coming weekend in Vermont. We are in countdown mode!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.