Just books

What it says on the tin. Books.

The reason for the photo is that a week ago it wasn't. Just books, that is. It was books mixed with magazine files of paper.

I've devoted part of the last two weeks to weeding out the paper in these files, replacing it wherever possible with pdfs, either from online, after scanning or after seeking the good offices of a friend in a university with better subscriptions than we do.

Lorry loads of paper have been bunged in the recycling bins downstairs and yet it seemed to make no difference. Now finally, to my eyes at least, it does. Getting rid of the paper means all books can reside on shelves not in piles. There are no more double thickness rows. There is even a bit of space for growth. Something of a comparison can be made with this early blip. The bikes, by the way, were just put in the hall. I haven't managed to get rid of them.

This is just one side of my study. The right hand side, as you view it from the desk, is still a work in progress. And that's where I keep my work books. As for my office at work... I've barely scratched the surface.

Meanwhile, no offence to anyone, I've discovered I quite like being in this flat on my own, especially when working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.