The Whale Watch Guide

Classic Icelandic face, or so I am told. Including the sunburn. They are all sunburnt around here. We are having the most unusually beautiful weather.


The whale watching trip was a huge success. Not only did I NOT spend the whole voyage with my head hanging over the rail we managed to see no less then eight Minke whales! It was absolutely breathtaking. Our excellent tour guide, Gummy (from yesterday) recommended that we use Puffin Express instead of one the larger tour boats. He felt the staff were far more knowledgable about marine biology and had a greater passion for what they did. He couldn't have been more right about that. Our beautiful redheaded guide was practically gasping with joy every time she spotted a whale. We were so lucky, apparently there is a chance that the only thing on offer would be Puffins off Puffin Island. At the end of our trip three dolphins decided to join us for a while. They frolicked around the boat like children. Breaching (do dolphins breech? or its it jump?) and spinning and generally showing off. Everyone was clapping and laughing and it was a wonderful atmosphere.

At the end of our journey I showed the marketing director the shot I took of our guide and she asked if I might step into the captain's cabin to photograph the rest of the staff for their website. I haven't had a chance to photograph many Icelandic people thus far so I was practically drooling with the request. They were such a lovely bunch.

We had our lunch at the famous hotdog stand today. A huge queue around the block helped us find it. They were okay but as a native New Yorker I have to say I have had much better. The kids loved then though.

We are off to the spa now to soak in hot water for a while. I am never happier then when submerged under hot water. We are having a most wonderful time.

OUT-TAKES Including the boat staff and a whale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.