A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

I am officially stupid.

LARGE

Trouble has flared in Manchester and Salford today, following on from events in other parts of the country.

It wasn't enough for me to head to Salford from work, where the tension was mounting. I got chased off by riot police while at the same time local lads were looking at this fortysomething bloke with glasses and a bit of beard wearing a shirt and trousers, wondering if I was an undercover copper.
I didn't get a photo.

So I decided to get the tram into Manchester. As I walked closer to St Peters Square, a group of about eighty to a hundred scallies - hoods up, masks covering their faces - went past down Princess Street. They were about 150 metres away. I got scared. As the main body went past, I followed and managed to take two photos before I panicked that some would turn on me.
I saw people smash the windows at this Tesco and then come running out carrying bottles of booze. Some weren't even bothered about stealing it - they just smashed it in the road.
I then headed home and saw shops with every window broken, a small Sainsburys was getting ransacked. Staff at another Tesco a few doors down were still inside and had barricaded the door. I made sure I didn't make eye contact with anyone wearing a hood.

I am home, I am unharmed, I have had a bollocking off my girlfriend. On reflection, I can't say I blame her.
Why did I do this? To get a photo? Silly silly boy.


Tomorrow I'll go for something like a wall or a sunset.

(164/365)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.