Dyrham Park NT

I set out today with the sole intent of photographing some deer, and drove off to Dyrham Park, a National Trust property north of Bath.

It nearly didn't happen when the sign on the motorway said 'A46 South Closed' , this unfortunately being where I needed to be, but half an hour later I made it anyway, and twenty minutes later I met up with a large herd of fallow deer bucks. I approached slowly and cautiously, expecting them to shy away, but they let me get so close I had to use the macro setting on my lens. I spent all the available time with them, never getting as far as the house itself, and took around two-hundred photos. After a quick look through them, I picked out half a dozen I particularly liked and decided this one had the edge because of the way the light falls on their velvety antlers.

This is my 500th blip for this amazing community. Thanks to 6Music superstar Joe for founding it, and to everyone who has passed by my journal and added up to the 60,000 views I have had so far, and for your supportive comments. I shall be sticking around.

I couldn't comment last night and my broadband was playing up this morning and I have fallen behind with my commenting. I hope to be catching up with all my subscriptions over the next couple of days.

Blip #500
Consecutive Blip #497
Day #502

Alternatives:
Deer Park #1
This Buddy Wasn't Budging
All This Scratching Is Making Me Itch
The Very Nearly Blip
Deer Park #2

Dyrham Park NT, 9 August 2011 (Flickr set)

Lens: Sigma 70-300mm

1 year ago: Reality Bites

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.