Savouring every moment

By momentintime

Scott's Square Slums

Bad weather meant that today we toured our local museums today. Hull is very lucky to have so many good ones and free too! It's never dull in 'ull!

On the way back to the car I showed my boys this slum, it's called Scott's Square, I think it (well what's left of it, demloished in 1993) was the last remining slum in Hull, back to back housing. There's enough left to get the feeling that when you stand at the base of the houses it feels dark & damp...not a nice place to live...but I can't help loving it, touching history like that.

My History teacher took us there about 1990 and explained it was going to be knocked down but she was fighting to preserve it, I couldn't understand why but now I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.