Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Dew that's Grand!

A trip to the theatre tonight, down the Grand Theatre, Swansea! I love going to the theatre, and I'd say I enjoy it more than the cinema. As well as the live theatre, I think it's also the buildings themselves, for example the Grand is well over a hundred years old so quite clearly there is a lot of history about the place. I wonder what stars have graced its boards over the years?

Tonight's play was part of the Summer Repertory Season; it was called The Woman in White and has some famous names from stage and screen. Colin Baker, most famous for Doctor Who, Peter Amory, soap fans will know him as Chris Tate from Emmerdale, and Neil Stacy who was in the comedy Duty Free. Neil's got one of those faces and voices you recognise but can?t put a name to, but you'll know him as the posh husband on Duty Free. It was a very good play and I thoroughly enjoyed it, sadly not everyone agreed; the bloke next to me, left at the first interval and never came back. I just don't understand that mentality, you pay for a ticket you would have thought you would want to get your money's worth. However, I will own up to walking out of a Wales v England 6 Nations match at half time some years ago when we were getting thrashed. (Hopefully not this Saturday!)

It was great to meet up with one of my Twitter friends for the first time, and I was very jealous this morning (back blipping) when I found out she had a long chat with Colin Baker after the play last night. Sadly for me I've got an early start tomorrow morning and couldn't stay after it finished at 10:30pm. As most people probably know, Colin was the sixth Doctor Who, after Peter Davidson and before Sylvester McCoy, during a difficult time in the history of the programme. I'll admit I wasn't his biggest fan during his time as the Doctor, but having viewed his episodes on DVD recently I've changed my mind. Colin still plays the Doctor on Big Finish's audio plays, and his version of the Doctor really works and I think his performances on audio have helped me changed my view his time on TV.

Hope you enjoyed your stay in Swansea Colin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.