Steve's Daily Pic

By Smorgan

Nuclear Generation

Tonight I am in Kingman Arizona and the first Motel stay, of my drive home. Tomorrow I'll go to Phoenix to visit friends for a couple of days. Here are some back-blips of the trip.

Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5

Thanks for all the great comments and well-wishes, I promise I'll get caught up on all your pics, once I'm settled back in at home.


This morning I was listening to a local radio station, when they announced that a special transport convoy was coming through the area, a while later I came across it, during its daytime resting period.

It is a generator from a nuclear power plant that they are taking to Utah. The load was 20' wide and over 100' long (as you can see), and the trailer alone weighs over a million lbs. There are 2 trucks pulling it and 3 others pushing. It takes up the entire northbound side of the hwy, so if you get caught behind it, you can't get by and are stuck following it at 35 mph, until it gets to its daily destination. To reduce traffic tie-ups, they are only driving between 9pm and 5am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.