While on my runs

By waipushrink

Shadows at Coxs Bay

Back in Auckland after a two day meeting in Wellington. Full day at the office, followed by a business meeting, so am blipping later than usual for me.

My run this morning was one which I really enjoy. I start out on the streets of Ponsonby and Herne Bay, before reaching Coxs Bay, scene of many a blip in the last nine months. The longer days means that the sky is significantly lighter by the time I get to this point. Today, there was a lot of cloud cover, but still enough from the sunrise behind the cliff to cast some shadows, as well as enhance the reflections within those shadows.

The two boat houses are owned by two different rowing clubs, one of which (the West End Club) was once the most successful rowing club in New Zealand. Supplanted in the last few decades, mostly by the Cambridge based Waikato Club.

After leaving the Bay, my run takes me back through Coxs Bay Park, along the Coxs Creek Walkway, through Hakanoa Reserve and then the length of Grey Lynn Park before climbing a hill back to the Grey Lynn Ridge. Short street sections break up the parklands, and its a great off road run in the central city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.