Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Shiny

A few years ago I sold my Nikon D70s and lenses, so that we could buy some shiny new plastic windows. Well the windows are doing their job, because it has been persisting down outside. The Olympus compact I have been using for some time has limitations, mainly the idiot holding it, so I was authorised by the garden fairy to purchase a Nikon D3100 and 55-200 lens as Amazon have a special on.

The camera arrived this morning, I now remember what I missed from my D70s, speed, accuracy, focus, clarity etc etc. The main difference is weight. The D70s plus 70-200 VR was just too heavy to lug around. This new kit weighs less than a kilo, feels comfortable and seems to do what I want to do with it. I'm looking forward to following the progress of the new grandson and his elder brother.

Note to idiot self, "It's not the tools, it's the idiot holding them."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.