Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

City Road Basin

I haven't had to work in London for a couple of weeks but today was up in the Old Street/City Road area. I'm not very familiar with the area so was pleased to come across the Regent's Canal during my lunchtime walk. The canal was built in the early part of the 19th century to link the Thames with the Grand Union Canal. I thought it gave quite a different perpective on London and a great opportunity to get a traditional narrow boat in the same shot as modern iconic buildings like the Gherkin. On a day when I have a bit more time I'll walk the full 8 and a half mile route. The image here is the City Road Basin reflected in some modern steel structure. This is where goods would have been unloaded for warehouses and factories that lined the wharves and nearby streets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.