Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Strawberry harvest

I really must try and get my blips done earlier - when I'm still awake enough to write coherently!

Another busy day, though in a somewhat different way. I took the dogs out to the river this morning, but it seems to have reached that stale time between summer and autumn, when there doesn't seem to be much to photograph. I didn't even get my camera out of the backpack! But I did pick the first blackberries of the season - though there was heavy competition with the wasps...

Then it was time for shopping, before spending much of the afternoon cooking cakes for the local Wildlife Trust - chocolate muffins, blackberry and apple muffins with cinammon icing and lemon drizzle cake. One of our local running clubs held a race this evening, and had agreed to donate the entry fees to the wildlife Trust in exchange for us arranging refreshments and a bottle of beer for each entrant (provided by a local sponsor). I've spent the evening there helping to sell cakes - a very worthwhile effort as we raised somewhere in the region of £650!

I found this luscious strawberry in the garden this morning. We planted several strawberry plants back in the spring, but thanks to the drought and then the slugs, we haven't really had much of a harvest. Today I spotted this wonderfully ripe and shiny, beautifully shaped strawberry and decided that it should be recorded for posterity before being eaten!

I realise that I'm way behind with comments again. It's been quite a week so far, but I'm hoping to have a bit of a catch-up day tomorrow, to recharge my batteries before a busy weekend. Anyway, thanks to all who've dropped by and welcome to those who've recently subscribed to my journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.