the face of expulsion

Although an interesting subject to photograph this gentleman has in the past requested that pictures of him on the internet be concealed so that any prospective/potential employers/landpeople Googling him are not met with unflattering images of him making a stupid face or adopting an unfortunate position. I shall therefore refrain from tagging this image as thoroughly as I would like.

Another horrible long day at work but I ended up feeling remarkably more positive about (and possibly even able to complete all) the Stuff Still to Be Done despite having to refrain from attending a positive-thinking team-chivvying event with my immediate colleagues in order to realise more chronological resource in which to get things done. Part of the relieved feeling came from the reduction over the day of the attenuation of high-frequency response in my right ear up with which I woke on Saturday morning. It still hadn't improved by Monday which made me think that it maybe hadn't been an exceptionally loud noise (despite the tell-tale slight high-frequency ringing audible when sufficiently quiet) despite the lengths to which I go to protect my hearing so made myself an appointment with a physician so that it was at least on record if it does turn out to be the #1 suspect: my volume-control-less office phone. Given the eventual reduction of the ringing and return of function over time (though a greater time than usual for that sort of thing) it's unlikely to have been anything other than noise trauma; irritating but no longer scary now that hearing has returned to an acceptable though still not-quite-right level. The doctor seemed exceptionally uninterested and fairly dismissive but whilst I was there I ordered some replacement Epipens in case I get attacked by any wasps whilst on holiday and asked about getting some stuff for my evil fungal toenail disease which I've had since I was twelve but have never really done anything about; others of the fambly similarly afflicted have given good reports of the treatments currently available and it will be nice to be able to wear sandals this summer without mild concern for the sensibilities of anyone strange enough to inspect my toes in detail.

I met with some former colleagues in the evening for eating and speaking and had some lovelysoup and a steak almost as nice as the one I had years ago in a restaurant in Dijon against which all steaks since have been judged. The dessert wasn't nearly as nice; an apparent chocolate brownie which was unfortunately spoilt by the hidden presence of almonds which had to be picked out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.