Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Got Crabs?

Today we travelled to historic Charleston, a place of great importance in American history. Were I not totally knackered, I'm sure i'd dig out some facts and figures for you - but you'll have to make do with the knowledge that the first shots of the American Civil War rang out here on January 10th, 1861.

For reasons unknown my camera spent most of the day in my pocket - the shot above is the place where we ate lunch.
I blindly ordered a crab sandwich, presuming I was playing it safe in a part of the world where some of the dishes are outright strange to me.
Things took a turn for the worst when my aquatic snack arrived though - an entire crab, deep fried whole and lobbed on a bread bun!
A closer inspection of the menu revealed that as the crab sheds it's shell to grow new one, it's softer body is exposed (hence 'soft shell' crab I suppose), and of course who in their right mind wouldn't scoop up this defenceless delight and throw him in a deep fat fryer?

It wasn't too bad to be honest, but my now extensive knowledge of the whole process (plus crabby's limp little legs hanging out of the bun) made for a slightly uncomfortable eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.