A Lost Island

By lostisland

Th'Arts Tower

I have been studying for my PhD at the University of Sheffield since September 2006. The focal point of the Western Bank campus (how apt) is The Arts Tower, one of the many 'fine' examples of 1960s architecture in Sheffield.

Even though I work in another building, I sometimes go in because it contains one of the last surviving Paternoster lift systems in the UK. It is basically a continually moving chain of open compartments that loop around the building, so you can jump on and off at any time.

I sometimes jump on it when I'm bored, but I'm secretly quite afraid of it. I want to go over the top of the loop one day, but each time I chicken out and jump off at the top floor.

Unfortunately it was closed today, but expect an action photo as soon as it is back in service. Maybe if I go over the top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.