Shandonner

By Shandonner

OS 1893

I was supposed to finish off writing a tutorial this evening.

However I stumbled across a Facebook page where someone has collated lots of photos of old Edinburgh. Many of the photos I'd seen before in various books and on-line collections, but quite a few I hadn't. If you've ever lived in Edinburgh then it is worth a gander. Although it could do with a few references and attributions.

This is from the 1893 Ordinance Survey, taken 2 years before the block where I live was built. In its place was what I take to be a big house with grounds called Merchiston Grove, now the name of the street that borders two sides of the block. I've been trying to find out more about this site over the last few years, but with little success.

Other interesting features of this area are the numbers of breweries, the remaining one to the top right of MG, an extra railway line which is now a cycle path here and a main road in the centre of town, some different street names, and some football pitch up in the top right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.