Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Is this a stage I see before me?

I've got meetings in our Midlands office today and tomorrow so instead of being Billy No Mates in the hotel tonight, I booked myself in down in Stratford-Upon-Avon to go and watch a Shakespeare play. It's the second time I've done it, last time it was to see the Scottish play but tonight it's a Midsummer Nights Dream. In total it is the third Shakespeare play I've seen, and I've got to say even though I have no idea what they?re saying half the time, I get the gist of what is going on.

Tonight's play was totally bonkers, very colourful and very, very funny! In case you don't know the story in essence it's about three sets of lovers, Theseus and Hippolyta, Hermia and Lysander and Demetrius and Helena. They all head into the forest and get mixed up in a quarrel between the King and Queen of the Fairies, and it all kicks off from them. There is also a character in the play called Bottom who gets mixed up into the quarrel as well, and he was played by a gentleman called Marc Wootton and he was absolutely outstanding! In fact the whole cast were very good and deserve a pat on the back for not breaking into fits of laughter with some of the stuff that goes on in the play.

I took a few shots of the new RSC Theatre from outside but it was very overcast and I didn't like the finished versions, so this is a shot of the stage itself in the theatre. As you can see the audience are around the stage and the actors often come from within the audience, downstairs and upstairs, I think the whole occasion is brilliant.

Stratford looks a very beautiful place, with an oldy worldy look to the place, regular visitors to this journal will know I like my oldy worldy places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.