Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

The little explorer...

... goes for a wee!

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1335874]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Not a great deal of editing today. When I took the shot I wanted to have the foreground frame him and him out of focus in the background - so focused on the grass in between the two. I don't know if the effect works, but it made sense at the time! So, the main thing I did with this image was convert it to mono. I know I've done a lot of these lately, but there was something about the contrasts and the lines which I liked which suggested that it would work with this. I used Silver Efex Pro with some coffee tones to convert it. Then, used some dodging and burning to bring out the darkness of the grasses and lighten the background slightly.

Quick bit of sharpening. Flattened. Saved.

Then managed to some how delete it. So did it again. Then mucked up the editing. So did it a third time.

Am not having a very good day photographically speaking!

Tip of the Day:

I kinda liked this article on Out of Focus Foreground Framing as an idea for composition when I read it the other day - which is where this shot came from!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.