The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Innocence

Rather than stroll around the Science Museum at lunchtime and bore you with yet more sciencey stuff, I decided to pop across the road to the V&A instead.

Now, as well as the sciency stuff, I really like religious imagery. Particularly stained glass. The way it was used to let the illiterates know what the bible was all about.

This window depicts Herod's massacre of the innocents in his ill fated search for Jesus. It was created by Gerhard Remsich in 1528 and I love the way everything reflects the fashions of his own time.

But what I really like about it, is the detail in this...well...detail. The pushed out chin and determined face of the soldier, almost as if he's had to steel himself to commit this atrocity. His lion headed epaulettes, almost spewing out his arms. The almost surprised look on the face of the baby.

I know the subject matter is pretty grim but I really love the artistry and skill. And you have to admire the way the church tells a gory story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.