Waterlily

This is the only flower in the pond before the building in Flushing where my mother has her apartment. Today she drew my attention to it and said in a kind of triumphant way that she discovered (again) a subject for my Blip journal ... ;)

The flower is the red variety of what is known as the European White Waterlily, also known as White Lotus or Nenuphar.

This red variety is discovered in the early 19th century in the forest of Tiveden, Sweden.
"The discovery led to a large scale exploitation which nearly made it extinct in the wild before it was protected."

Here you see the flower in filtered sunlight in the late afternoon. The strong colors in the water are from the sky, the green around the pond and the wall of the building ...;)

I said goodbye to my mother late this evening. "Safe trip", she said. "Do you have any idea about your blip for tomorrow?" ... :s



DMC-GF3: f/5.6 : 1/640" : 200mm : ISO 160

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.