a town called E.

By Eej

Diggin' it!


Every year, Western Michigan University (WMU) organises an 8 week archaeological dig in Niles, at the site of where Fort St. Joseph used to be. Today was their Open House and we were excited to go see it. The Beloved had been scheduled to work today, and we didn't know until late yesterday that we'd be able to go. It made me extra cheery :)

It was properly crowded at the site which made me happy for them, and it was obvious a lot of work had gone in it. The theme this year was the Fur Trade. They must have said beforehand: "Let's have the sensitive Dutchie who hates guns and killing/killed animals walk around piles of beaver skins and guns!"

It was still really, really cool :)

Most of our time was spend listening to lecturer Tim Kent, a historical writer, who knew just about everything about the French fur traders and their goings-on with Native Americans in our neck of the woods.
I took several photos of him, but as it goes with animated speakers; they are not the most photogenic as their face is always in motion! And I wanted to ask him for a real portrait because I enjoyed his talk so much, but it was busy and he had other people to attend to.
We walked around the dig site, I talked to some of the students, we looked at the holes in the ground and made plans to go again next year. Fascinating stuff.

Then the Beloved showed me where he works, we had a quick bite to eat and then we braved the masses in the supermarket. At the check-out we noticed a black cloud sweeping over and sure enough a massive storm broke out. Awesomeness!
The woman in the photo came out of the store, paused next to me, said "oh boy" in a tired voice, smiled at me and ran for it.
I waited for a soaking wet Beloved to pull up the car. *hums happily*

On the way home we had to swerve around fallen branches.

What a fab, FAB day.
Though I would have like a flash of lightening somewhere in this photo ;)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.