Like fingerprints

By FrederiqueE12

The blessing (or missed opportunities)

Tonight we had the most beautiful full moon under a sky tufted with little white clouds. I had not seen a full moon in a long time, particularly in this perfect summer weather not too hot, not humid, calm for a Saturday evening. After having something to eat in Côte-des-Neiges, my Saturday evening destination for the last few weeks, I made my way past the 24h drugstore on the corner of the street and saw the old stuccoed columns on the building. Not sure if these have to do with the church nearby, these are stuck on a commercial building which used to house a vegetarian restaurant but now houses a big drugstore. I decided to set my camera to those, maybe come up with a nice picture but I really wanted the moon tonight and was heading towards the Oratory for a double shot of a cross under the moon. Took about 10 pictures of the saint, 2 only came out fine, this one did. As I reached my preferred photographic spot, my camera died on me, actually would no longer turn on. Nothing to be done, turned, took out and re-entered the batteries, tapped them, mixed them. Nothing would do. I went to the drugstore and looked and looked for the special double A lithium batteries required, nowhere to be found. There was to be no full moon in my blog tonight. These few experimental pics would have to do. Saddened I walked back to the bus stop. Sitting on a bench in the dark, waiting, I suddenly saw a young couple waiting at the light in a nice convertible car. The young man, early twenties or so was singing madly to the song on the radio, saying whooh whooho loudly in the night and swaying to the music with a contented grin. Besides him, a gorgeous young woman of about twenty, bored to no end and not even smiling at him. I wish I had been her. I too would have sung along and laughed and said whoohoo or such thing. People do not know what they have, how lucky they are. They miss the opportunity to just be happy in the moment, in what is given. I smiled. Sadly a bit, I have to admit.

On Laurier Street as my bus turned, I saw a young couple riding by on a red Vespa. They at least seemed very happy, the young woman latching onto the young man, with their oversized helmets bobbing along. I wondered if I knew him. Heading somewhere nice I hope...

I came back home, to blip the photo of my missed opportunity, of missed opportunities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.