Chiara

By Chiara

Grimes Sisters

After the building manager replaced the air conditioner unit with another faulty one for the fourth or fifth time, I just gave up and bought a new air conditioner two days ago. Einstein, Kikeli, and I couldn't be happier. My apartment is finally at a manageable temperature again! No more sauna, no more cold showers, no more seeing the cats sprawled out on the kitchen floor, no more clothes sticking to sweaty body, no more making fans blow hot air into the apartment from outside, no more runny toothpaste, no more sleeping without a blanket or even clothes, and no more frizzy hair. Life is back to normal!

Sometimes, I tell Jeff that I worry every time he rides. He always shushes me and asks me to not say stuff like that because the thought of me worrying makes him nervous. After today, I finally understand what he means. This morning, my mom commented on me not wearing a helmet while riding. Later, my coworker talked to me about how dangerous motorcycles are. Both conversations resulted into me being extremely tense during the ride home. When you're tense, you become clumsier on a motorcycle. Everything was awkward, from riding behind a car that braked every 5 seconds for no reason whatsoever (I hate when people do that) to rolling through a construction zone, where construction workers stared and grinned at me, thus distracting me. I had a couple of encounters with bad drivers -- one of who was a trophy wife in a Mustang chatting on her cellphone who swerved into my lane to avoid a bicyclist, only a few seconds away from having a head-on collision with me. If I was going even 5 mph faster, she would have hit me for sure. It amazes me how idiotic some drivers are.

I didn't have a good trip home, but, hey, I survived!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.