On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Obsessions at the Edge - CSS3

I swore I wouldn't but I have.

I thought that HTML5 and CSS3 were a step too far but I have given in to the need to know.

You see I am an amateur website designer. Actually I am an amateur in a lot of things, a dabbler, but that takes us off the point. I have been keeping my hand in, as it were, especially with Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) which lurk behind the websites that we all use.

Over the years CSS has evolved and it is necessary to retrain oneself. With the practical possibility of using various aspects of the new version, CSS3, I have given in to temptation and started to read about it in books and on the internet.

What a can of worms it is! No wonder professional website designers are needed. There is such a lot to know. What works now and with what browsers, for instance. Delivering websites for phones, tablets and PCs. I am slightly hampered in my attempts to keep abreast because I don't use a smart phone so I have to ask my daughter to check the results of my work. It isn't ideal.

But CSS is something of an obsession and I watch out for anyone I can talk to about it. I don't get a lot of opportunity to be honest. Experts (even casual users) are hard to come by. But there must be some. Too busy writing books perhaps.

That's enough on a topic that won't interest 99% of people. I only blipped this to get "CSS" in as a tag!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.