Me, myself & I

By AlisonMM

Bicycle!

Bicycle bicycle bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle bicycle bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle
I want to ride my bike
I want to ride my bicycle
I want to ride my
Bicycle races are coming your way
So forget all your duties oh yeah!
Fat bottomed girls they'll be riding today
So look out for those beauties oh yeah
On your marks get set go
Bicycle race bicycle race bicycle race
Bicycle bicycle bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle
Bicycle bicycle bicycle
Bicycle race


Today was the trial run for the cycling road race for the Olympics. The race is 140km (87 miles for those of us who are older!) Still, it's a long way.

The races started and finished in the Mall, out through south west London to Hampton Court, down through Esher and Weybridge and down to Woking.

We caught it in West Byfleet on a corner where they came down the Old Woking Road and did a sharp left turn into Oakcroft Road.

The race then continued down to the outskirts of Guildford, headed towards Dorking and then dida couple of circuits of Box Hill. That's where the biggest crowds were expected. The race then headed back up through Leatherhead and Esher, through Richmond Park and back into central London.

Hopefully we will get to see the real thing next year. I think it's the only event we don't need tickets for!

Sorry this isn't a great shot, I just pointed the camera and clicked. I know there will be plenty more photos from the race on this website, I've already seen one! [Credit to the late, great Freddie Mercury for the lyrics!]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.