Back to the future

It's been done several times on this forum but I thought I would give "Time travel on the cheap" a go.

I tried two days ago and was stymied by rain.

I tried yesterday, and was stymied by wind.

I tried today, dodging rain and wind only to find a car parked right in my line of fire.

Sod it - here's the result. It's a little bit tricky even if you set aside weather conditions trying to get enough depth of field.

It's a picture of the "Toledo" cinema circa 1957. As a kid, I spent many a happy Saturday afternoon in there. It managed to keep going as a cinema until 2001 until it was converted into flats. The frontage must have been listed because it remains almost exactly the same albeit, the wide pavement has been changed into a garden area. To the rear, the auditorium was demolished and a parking area in the middle is now surrounded by a U-shaped building containing the apartments.

I'm glad the frontage was kept as it does give some sense of continuity to the area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.