Northern Exposure

By Northern

Hill practice

Decided that I needed to lay the bogie to rest and hit some decent hills so that I could stop worrying about the ones on Rousay. Convinced Ruairidh to come with me (in case I needed a tow) and headed west.

We cycled from Harray to Rendall on the Lyde Road up over the hills did a short circuit around the parish of Rendall and then back over the hills again. Didn't do it very fast and had a few stops along the way, even one where I messed up changing gear and my chain came off. But all in all I was quite pleased with myself and the hills on Rousay now seem a lot more my size.

Beautiful day, we managed to avoid all but one of the passing showers. The peat bogs and heather on the hills were looking stunning, not to mention passing hen harriers, herons and owls drifting past. It's a part of Orkney we're rarely in but is always worth a visit, especially when you get views like we did today over the isles. Now that I know the hills aren't so tough I might go more often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.