Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

11 Million Bricks

Built in 1841 John Rastrick's Ouse Valley Viaduct is 450 metres long and supported by 37 semi-circular pierced brick arches. A fantastic example of Victorian engineering and architecture. This is the view down the length of the viaduct through the arches. Apparently it contains about 11 million bricks which were brought up along the Ouse by barge from Newhaven.

The viaduct carries the mainline London to Brighton railtrack. On the days when I commute to London I always think of the viaduct as marking my re-entry into the land where I feel comfortable and the last part of the journey home. Today it marks the end of my trek along the Sussex Ouse Valley Way - following the route taken by those bricks. Its not the official end but its not far short and the river has all but disappeared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.