Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Three Ages of Man

What do you see?

First Age ? As a young lad I would see a great opportunity for building a den and using the peashooters to play with. Because it is everywhere, all I can remember from my youth is playing amongst the stuff and building dens out of it. Do kids make dens anymore?

Second Age ? As a man and someone who works in the construction industry, I see an environmental menace. The peashooters of my youth are now Japanese Knotweed; an invasive plant which if found on a construction site can cause so many problems. Plus as someone who has taken more of an interest in wildlife and the environment as I've grown older, I realise the damage that this plant is doing to our countryside because it crowds out our native flora.

Third Age ? When I get older and start collecting my pension all I see is a nice bench to sit and chat to friends and watch the day go by. I'm usually on the road by 6am and every morning I used to see these three old men, the Last of the Summer Wine we used to call them, sat on the bench watching the valley come to life at the start of another working day. Sadly there is only one left now, leaving a sad reminder of happy days with the friends from your youth and adulthood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.