Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Wembley

The Wembley Arch 134 metres (440 ft) high with a span of 317 metres (1,040 ft), the longest single span roof structure in the world. With 90,000 seats the stadium is the second largest in Europe (second to Barcelona's Camp Nou).

We went to the Wembley Arena today to watch the Badminton World Championships. The Chinese won everything, the Brits - Scotsman and Englishwoman won silver in the mixed doubles. A good day out and some very high class sport.

The management and organisers have a strange attitude to photography. No lens longer than six inches is allowed - which would mean my Nikon 18 - 200mm zoom would be fine!! Also small cameras ie compacts etc are allowed but no photography!

I was asked not to take photographs - in a very polite way and with the explanation that the organisers were requesting it not the staff. I wasn't using flash and the play had ended Lin Dan had won and was taking a bow. Moments later every camera and camera phone in the building was flashing away!

A hopelessly muddled state of affairs. I think I will ask other blippers on the forum pages - is anyone hoping to take photos of the Olympics and how are they going to go about it.

Also I will back blip my Edinburgh Fringe shots shortly.

All the best everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.