running commentary

By Stesedthat

Days 365. Cows 400metres. Lens 300mm

On August 15th 2010 I began my Blipfoto journal. Had I Blipped every day consecutively I would be getting a cake and balloon today. When I reach 365 entries it will not be a particularly relevant date so I have decided to mark my first year myself anyway and have penned the following few lines about some of the people I have 'met' through these pages.




Blipfoto - one (non contigous) year later

A lass called RB,
a runner like me,
her online diary I read,
brought to my attention,
via a blog post mention,
a 'wonderful website', she said.

I went online and looked
and soon was completely hooked
by the ethos of Blipfoto, so I joined.
I was no longer taking photos
to become holiday momentoes
the term 'blipping' had suddenly been coined

My real-life pal, Stu
a tall fella, who,
is never one to miss a trick.
In no time at all,
lured by the call,
had his own journal going, double quick.

Despite no photographic ability
and often of impaired mobility,
Stu blipped on, despite my jeering.
Then, within a month of introduction,
featuring a photo of his of his wifes production
Stu won BLIP OF THE WEEK, and was cheering

I had to eat my words!

Stus efforts arn't so bad really
in fact, quite often, he has nearly,
captured amoment we all may aspire to.
His landscapes sit serenely
this group shot he captured quite cleanly
but if Haz has his way there will only be two (left over)

Speaking of Haz, or DavidH as he's known,
a photographer of local renown,
He's togged all round Penrith for many a year
and knows every pub in that town

At first he would lurk,
noting our efforts, quietly.
Maybe commenting by email or text, always privately.
But the urge within him grew stronger,
his comments grew ever longer.
Until one day, able to stand it no more,
the voices in his head becoming infernal,
saying 'join Blipfoto, join Blipfoto, dont wait by the door',
two mouse clicks later he had his own journal!

At sports 'togging I was a newbie and Dave already a master.
With youth on my side I learned much, and with haste,
Dave would oversee and guide me, then at Langdale half marathon he even raced!
you'll need to give up the cig's though DH, if you wanna run much faster!

Stu, (or was it Dave?) led me to note Clickychick (real name Hayley)
A local Blipper who, since christmas '83, has uploaded a photo daily.
She's never missed a day since then, (correct me if I'm wrong)
She often visits country shows and usually breaks into song.
Tra la lah.

Joking I am, Clicky's real name shall be spared,
Blip can be good for is anonymity, if so required.
Her record is real enough though, no sign of any gaps
care and thought goes into Clicky blips too, certainly not just snaps.

Another Cumbrian Blipper is Trevor, who often features golf and more often, his dog Chloe
check this one and this one from last December,
taken when it was snowy

Further afield is waipushrink Blipping from New Zealand.
Runs every day, Blips every day.
Routes and photos convey such freedom

NLN and IWC are enigmatic Blippers,
I think they might be one person with two accounts
IW posts early, NLN much later I've noted.
Perhaps to help overcome the logistics
I dont imagine anybody read this far down and therefore noticed the rhyming has tailed off somewhat.





There we go there we are and there we have it.
Sorry if you were reading down hoping for a verse about you,
unvelievabley I wrote it in my head last Wednesday whilst running six 800 metre intervals.

Happy Blip Birthday and a merry Christmas one and all





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.