Et Aetatis

By Biota

Bee Sting

I got stung by a yellow jacket while in the car; I thought it had flown out but turned out it hadn't. T_T I was talking and leaned back in my seat and felt a sharp pinch at my elbow. She (because worker bees are always female, so presumably worker yellow jackets are too) was dangling from my arm by her stinger, and I quickly swiped her off. All I could think about was how glad I was that I hadn't been driving.

I've only been stung by a bee (or bee-like creature) twice before. The first time I was probably around four-years-old, and it stung me on the forearm, and the second time was a couple years later on the back of my earlobe. From my hazy childhood memory, I remember crying and being so miserable afterwards...Maybe my pain tolerance has increased?

But I'm almost a little glad it was a yellow jacket and not a honeybee. Since honeybees have barbed stingers, when they sting you, the stinger gets lodged in your skin and rips out part of their lower abdomen, as well as their nerves and part of the digestive tract, so honeybees can't live very long after stinging. Yellow jackets and wasps have smooth stingers, so they can sting multiple times without dying. A lot of times when humans get stung, it's not because they were purposefully threatening the nest but because they accidentally scared the bee. So as silly as this might sound, I'm glad a bee didn't die for a pointless reason.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.